2013 NFL All Pro Teams announced: Three Seahawks receive honors

Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL announced the 2013 NFL All Pro Team and three Seahawks made the cut. Both Richard Sherman and Earl Thomas were named First Team All Pro for the second year in a row, and Kam Chancellor was named Second Team All Pro at safety, his first All Pro honor.

Marshawn Lynch somewhat surprisingly did not make the cut as a Second Team All Pro despite his NFC-best 14 touchdowns, ceding his spot on the team to rookie Eddie Lacy. Lynch was a First Team All Pro in 2012 and while he's had an inferior year statistically to '12, he's still playing at a high level, in my opinion.


Here in Seattle, people will likely view this as a snub, and while I'm not overly concerned either way, if you look at the stats, Lynch has the Packer beat in yards per attempt, total yards, total touchdowns, and receiving yards. Matt Forte probably has an even better argument to be on the Second Team over Lacy, for what it's worth. I don't get worked up about AP All Pro honors, but that was the one choice that I found a little interesting and worth looking at.


As for the rest of the teams, I'd say things look about how you'd expect. I was interested to note that Patrick Willis was omitted, and it was a little surprising (maybe?) to see that Josh Gordon was First Team All Pro. Showing that there is justice in the world, Lavonte David was named to the First Team as an outside linebacker.

One notable thing about all this was that there was no Second Team All Pro Quarterback this year. This seems to indicate that all 50 AP votes went to Peyton Manning. Which makes sense.


Quarterback: Peyton Manning. No second team quarterback.
Running backs: LeSean McCoy; Jamaal Charles. Second team: Adrian Peterson; Eddie Lacy
Fullback: Mike Tolbert. Second team: Marcel Reese.
Tight End: Jimmy Graham. Second team: Vernon Davis.
Wide receivers: Calvin Johnson; Josh Gordon. Second team: A.J. Green, Demaryius Thomas, and Antonio Brown. 
Tackles: Joe Thomas; Jason Peters. Second team: Tyron Smith; Joe Staley.
Guards: Louis Vasquez; Evan Mathis. Second team: Jahri Evans; Logan Mankins, and Josh Sitton.
Center: Ryan Kalil. Second team: Alex Mack.


Defensive end: J.J. Watt; Robert Quinn. Second team: Mario Williams; Greg Hardy.
Defensive tackle: Gerald McCoy; Ndamukong Suh. Second team: Dontari Poe; Muhammad Wilkerson, Jurrell Casey and Justin Smith.
Outside linebackers: Robert Mathis; Lavonte David. Second team: Tamba Hali; Ahmad Brooks.
Inside linebackers: Luke Kuechly; NaVorro Bowman. Second team: Vontaze Burfict; Karlos Dansby.
Cornerbacks: Richard Sherman; Patrick Peterson. Second team: Aqib Talib; Joe Haden and Alterraun Verner.
Safeties: Earl Thomas; Eric Berry. Second team: Eric Weddle; Kam Chancellor, Jairus Byrd, T.J. Ward, Devin McCourty and Antrel Rolle.Special teams

Punter: Johnny Hekker. Second team: Brandon Fields.
Placekicker: Justin Tucker. Second team: Matt Prater.
Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson. Second team: Dexter McCluster.

In This Article

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Field Gulls

You must be a member of Field Gulls to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Field Gulls. You should read them.

Join Field Gulls

You must be a member of Field Gulls to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Field Gulls. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.