clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl voting results: Russell Okung, Max Unger, Earl Thomas & Leon Washington represent Seahawks, Richard Sherman snubbed

Otto Greule Jr

The NFL Pro Bowl voting results are out and not surprisingly, Russell Okung & Max Unger have been named to the NFC's squad as starters. Leon Washington was named to the team as a kick returner, and Marshawn Lynch & Earl Thomas are reserves for the NFC team.

Richard Sherman, curiously, did not make the team, despite being maybe the best cornerback in the entire NFL. It seems likely that Sherman failed to receive the necessary votes because of the ongoing PED suspension situation, with players and coaches instead choosing to vote for players they thought would be eligible. Regardless, Sherman getting snubbed - homer-level notwithstanding - is just silly. He was beaten out by Charles Tillman, Tim Jennings, and Patrick Peterson.

That said, hooray for Russell, Earl, Marshawn, Leon and Max!

Depending on who you ask, Okung has either only given up one sack this year (per ESPN), or no sacks this year (per ProFootballReference) and has shut down some of the game's top pass-rushers, including Cameron Wake, Aldon Smith twice, Julius Peppers, Mario Williams, and Jared Allen, among others. Max Unger has led the way in making the Seahawks' offensive line one of the best units in the game, and we all know what Marshawn Lynch does on a weekly basis.

Earl Thomas is an integral piece of the Seahawks' defense, but it's pretty weird to see him alone on the defensive roster. His range, speed, and diagnosis skills definitely put him on the NFL map though, and he'll back up San Francisco's Dashon Goldson.

Leon makes the Pro Bowl as a KR, and it's great to see him recognized for his specific but important role with the Seahawks.


As for alternates -- and there are bound to be a ton of alternates that get to go, Chris Clemons was named the first-alternate at DE, along with FB Michael Robinson and, confirmed, CB Richard Sherman. Kam Chancellor was a second-alternate at strong safety, along with Heath Farwell for special teams and Jon Ryan for punter (which seems kind of like a snub too, frankly).

Russell Wilson is the third-alternate at quarterback, and Brandon Mebane is the fourth-alternate at defensive tackle.

Spout your outrage and/or joy below!


2013 Pro Bowl roster analysis: NFC -

2013 Pro Bowl roster analysis: AFC -