clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Draft 2015: The Armchair GM Championship, sponsored by the Silver Reef Casino and the Silver Reef Cigar Lounge

You think we're taking those guys?

Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

It's back! This year's annual Armchair GM Championship is held in memoriam of Ben Harbaugh, the original creator of the challenge, who we lost this past year to grad school. The torch has passed to me, and I'm happy to take the reins and keep this thing going.

Also, thanks to the folks at The Silver Reef Casino, the generous sponsors for Jacson's Cigar Thoughts 'cast, winners this year will be receiving some really great prizes.

1st Place: One overnight stay in the award-winning Silver Reef Casino Hotel, plus a Cigar Lounge experience for two.
2nd Place: One overnight stay in the award-winning Silver Reef Casino Hotel, plus a dinner for two in The Buffet at Silver Reef.
3rd Place: One dinner for two in Panasia, the Silver Reef's wonderful panasian restaurant

How it works

The Armchair GM Championship is a confidence poll, much like the ones you may have done for the college football bowl season. Each commenter will submit a list of 20 names that they believe the Seahawks will draft, in order of  how confident they are that the player will be picked by Seattle. The first name on your list will be worth 30 points, the second name 29 points, the third 28 points, and so on and so forth. Once the draft is over, we'll add up everyones points and see which one of us is actually John Schneider in disguise.

In the event of a tie, the winner will be decided based first off of who picked the most players, and then if needed based off of who scored the most points on the player drafted in the lowest round (since those players are harder to predict).

The most important rule

Last year we had 84 submissions, and the year before that we had over 100. That's fantastic, but it also makes scoring a bit of a chore. In order to keep the scoring as streamlined as possible, please submit your list using the following rules:

  • List the names out, one to a line, like the example below. Don't have just one big long paragraph.
  • Only use the first and last name of the player. The school, position, and other information isn't needed.
  • No bulleting or numbering either. Just the full first and last name.

Let's look at last year's winner, mihirkuthyar, as an example for how this all works.

Joel Bitonio
Demarcus Lawrence
Kevin Pierre- Louis
Matt Patchan
Dominque Easley
Trai Turner
Jarvis Landry
Brandon Thomas
Laurent Durvernay-Tardiff
Marcus Smith
Eric Pinkins
Jason Verrett
RaShede Hageman
Paul Richardson
Cody Latimer
Jonathan Dowling
Will Clarke
Howard Jones
Zach Kerr
Bennett Jackson

Mihirkuthyar hit on Kevin Pierre-Louis (28 points), Eric Pinkins (20 points), and Paul Richardson (17 points), for a total of 65 points.With that, mihikruthyar joins the illustrious list of past champions.

Hall of Champions

  • 2014: mihirkuthar (65 points)
  • 2013: Nate Dogg (68 points)
  • 2012: HI Hawk 808 (72 points)

Fun with numbers

Last years top five scorers.

  • mihirkuthyar - 65 points
  • HI Hawk 808 - 55 points
  • gihyou - 54 points
  • Nate Dogg - 53 points
  • Paul70 - 53 points

How many lists predicted at least one player?

  • 2014: 58.3%
  • 2013: 60.8%
  • 2012: 95.7%

What was the average score per list?

  • 2014: 16.26
  • 2013: 17.15
  • 2012: 34.38

Top 5 most picked players in 2015.

  • Joel Bitonio: 71.4%
  • Cody Latimer: 61.9%
  • Martavis Bryant: 59.5%
  • Dominique Easley: 58.3%
  • Laurent Duvernay-Tardif: 58.3%

Most picked Seahawks picks.

  • Kevin Pierre-Louis: 27.3% (19th most selected player)
  • Kevin Norwood: 21.4%
  • Paul Richardson: 8.3%
  • Cassius Marsh: 7.1%
  • Justin Britt: 5.9%
  • Eric Pinkins: 4.7%
  • Garrett Scott: 3.5%
  • Jimmy Staten: 0.0%
  • Kiero Small: 0.0%

Let the games begin!

Good luck everybody! I'll try not to beat you all by too many points.