clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bobby Wagner, Seahawks agree on contract extension

Wagner will make $43 million over four years.

Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

Bobby Wagner and the Seahawks have agreed to a contract extension, as first reported by Michael Robinson. NFL Network's Rand Getlin also had the report, and pointed out it's a four year deal. This will keep Wagner in Seattle through the 2019 season.

Field Gulls on Facebook

Shortly after Russell Wilson signed his contract extension on Friday, Wagner tweeted "can't keep everyone," which led to speculation that Wagner was either unhappy with the state of his negotiations with the signing of Wilson. Wagner later expressed (genuine, in my opinion) happiness for Wilson, and said that he hoped a deal for himself would get wrapped up soon.

When Pete Carroll talked to reporters a little while later, he heavily inferred that the team was working on Wagner's deal, and it only took another day to conclude those negotiations.

Wagner has grown into one of the top inside linebackers in the NFL, along with Luke Kuechly and NaVorro Bowman.

According to Mike Garafolo, Wagner will make $43 million over four years, or about $10.75M in new money average-per-year, making him the highest paid inside linebacker in the NFL.

Pittsburgh's Lawrence Timmons was previously the highest paid at that spot, averaging $9.56 million per year, followed closely by Bowman, whose deal averages $9.05 million per.

Wagner gets $22 million guaranteed. We're still waiting to hear whether that's fully guaranteed money or the "rolling" type of guarantees that vest as the league year starts. Brian Cushing's contract previously sets the bar there, with $21 million guaranteed. New York Jets' linebacker David Harris recently signed a three-year extension that included $15.5 million in guarantees.

With the deal, the Seahawks "core" group is ridiculously loaded. They control QB Russell Wilson (Pro Bowl), RB Marshawn Lynch (All Pro), TE Jimmy Graham (All Pro), CB Richard Sherman (All Pro), S Earl Thomas (All Pro), S Kam Chancellor (All Pro), DE Michael Bennett, DE Cliff Avril, LB K.J. Wright, and now LB Bobby Wagner (All Pro) for the next three years.