clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Are we sure that Jermaine Kearse didn’t score a game-winning touchdown vs Saints?

New, comments

At the end of their game against the New Orleans Saints, the Seattle Seahawks threw a fade route to Jermaine Kearse, not giving Jimmy Graham or Doug Baldwin a chance to score the winner. The Saints won 25-20 after Russell Wilson’s pass sailed too far and carried Kearse out of bounds.

But it was a lot closer than the broadcast would have you believe.

At first glance, it seemed like Kearse was just clearly out of bounds, but a close up, slo-mo version of the play showed the Kearse actually did a phenomenal job of tapping his left toe in the end zone.

Kearse had the left foot in the end zone, so in college rules, he may have actually just scored the game-winning touchdown. However, NFL requires two feet or like a knee or a butt or something. But definitely more than one foot. Kearse actually did hit the second foot against the pylon though, so is the pylon in bounds?

Unfortunately, not only is the pylon out of bounds but Kearse’s body may have touched the ground out of the back of the end zone before his right foot hit the pylon. He would have needed to tap the right foot in the end zone before his body hit out of bounds. It was a pretty impressive play by Kearse, but it was out of bounds.

Wilson should have not thrown it that far. Or he should have looked for Graham or Baldwin. Or Darrell Bevell should have called something else, which is probably the most right answer of all.

Pylons Don't Count

More on why Kearse's last catch did not count for the touchdown. #seahawks

Posted by Field Gulls: For Seattle Seahawks News and Analysis on Monday, October 31, 2016

video credit: Jeff Collett