clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL playoff picture: Arizona Cardinals have been eliminated from playoff contention

Los Angeles Rams v Seattle Seahawks Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

With their loss to the New Orleans Saints, the Arizona Cardinals have been officially eliminated from playoff contention. The NFC West is the first division to have concluded all regular season plans. The Seahawks clinched the NFC West title on Thursday for the fourth time in seven seasons under Pete Carroll, while the Jacksonville Jaguars fired head coach Gus Bradley — formerly Seattle’s defensive coordinator — on Sunday.

Here is the current breakdown of playoff seeds in the NFC:

  1. Dallas Cowboys* (12-2)
  2. Seattle Seahawks* (9-4-1)
  3. Detroit Lions (9-5)
  4. Atlanta Falcons (9-5)
  5. New York Giants (10-4)
  6. Green Bay Packers (8-6)

There are three matches in Week 16 that will have playoff implications for multiple teams:

  • Minnesota Vikings (7-7) at Green Bay Packers (8-6)
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers (8-6) at New Orleans Saints (6-8)
  • Detroit Lions (9-5) at Dallas Cowboys (12-2)

In addition to the Cardinals, three other teams were eliminated from playoff contention this week: Cincinnati Bengals, Philadelphia Eagles, and the San Diego Chargers. Immediately outside the playoff bubble sit the Tampa Bay Buccaneers (8-6) Washington Redskins (7-6-1), and the Minnesota Vikings (7-7).

Here is the complete list of all teams that have been officially eliminated from playoff contention in both conferences:


  • Arizona Cardinals
  • Chicago Bears
  • Los Angeles Rams
  • Philadelphia Eagles
  • San Francisco 49ers


  • Cincinnati Bengals
  • Cleveland Browns
  • Jacksonville Jaguars
  • New York Jets
  • San Diego Chargers

The Seahawks play the Cardinals next Saturday. With a win in Week 16, they should have a strong hold over the bye week going into the playoffs. They might also have an opportunity to clinch a bye week next week.