clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Was Paul Richardson’s touchdown catch ruled correctly?

New, comments
Seattle Seahawks v New York Giants Photo by Abbie Parr/Getty Images

During the Seattle Seahawks win over the New York Giants, there was a play in the fourth quarter that caused a lot of controversy. I'm of course talking about Russell Wilson’s touchdown pass to Paul Richardson in which he and Giants' safety Landon Collins caught the ball at the same exact time in the endzone. Here's a replay of the catch:

According to the NFL rule book in Article 4b Catch or Recovery of a Free Kick:

According to the rules, this means that the referees call of the completed catch and subsequent review awarding the touchdown to Paul Richardson was correctly called on the field.

The next debate people are having is: Did Paul Richardson ever have "possession" of the ball in the first place?

In my opinion, yes. He had both feet in bounds with the ball clearly in both of their hands. This is why the "simultaneous catch" rules that I explained above were enforced for this play.

What do you think? Was this play called correctly?

Poll

Was this touchdown ruled correctly?

This poll is closed

  • 94%
    Yes.
    (1967 votes)
  • 5%
    No.
    (111 votes)
2078 votes total Vote Now

Follow me on Twitter @SamuelRGold and support me on Patreon.