clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

4 Seahawks named to Pro Bowl, 4 alternates also named

Philadelphia Eagles v Seattle Seahawks Photo by Otto Greule Jr /Getty Images

The Seattle Seahawks have sent 7 players to the Pro Bowl in each of the last three seasons, but “only” four got the initial nod when the Pro Bowl rosters were announced on Tuesday evening. Bobby Wagner, Russell Wilson, Earl Thomas, and Jimmy Graham each got the nod this time around.

For Wilson, it is his fourth Pro Bowl in six seasons.

Wagner is going for the fourth straight year, Thomas for the sixth time (after missing out last season following his broken leg), and Graham for the fifth time.

Seattle also had four alternates named: Michael Bennett, Kam Chancellor, Doug Baldwin, and Tyler Lockett, with Lockett being an alternate for return duties.

Kam obviously could not play in the Pro Bowl, but he could still add his fifth Pro Bowl accolade to his resume. Bennett has gone in each of the last two years — his first two Pro Bowl nods — and Baldwin went for the first time in 2016. Lockett was named as a Pro Bowl returner in 2015 when he was a rookie.

The biggest snub seems to be Justin Britt, who was an alternate last year but not this year. K.J. Wright was a Pro Bowl alternate-turned Pro Bowl player last season and I think he may have even improved this year, but did not get mentioned. Neither did Sheldon Richardson, Richard Sherman, or Frank Clark. Hard to say there were any hard snubs this season and getting four in, as many as eight, is quite a fair achievement.