clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bobby Wagner didn’t receive any votes for NFL Defensive Player of the Year

Wild Card Round - Detroit Lions v Seattle Seahawks Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

The NFL’s Defensive Player of the Year award went to Khalil Mack, the fearsome pass rusher from the Oakland Raiders. With several viable candidates in the mix, it’s only fitting that the final voting tallies were incredibly close. Mack beat out division rival Von Miller by literally one vote, 18-17. The other fifteen AP votes were split among four players, none of whom goes by the name Bobby Wagner.

The star linebacker of the Seattle Seahawks earned 48 of a maximum 50 votes for AP All-Pro first team honors, seven more than Sean Lee of the Dallas Cowboys. Only Justin Tucker and Tyreek Hill received more votes — they both were unanimous choices on special teams — so Wagner earned more first team votes than any offensive or defensive player ... and got shut out of the DPOY race. How disappointing.

It is worth pointing out that the same 50 sportswriters vote for both the All-Pro teams and these year-end awards, so I’d love to know if the two voters who didn’t have Wagner as first team All-Pro also had Sean Lee as DPOY.

For the record, Jimmy Graham also didn’t get any votes as the NFL’s Comeback Player of the Year, which unsurprisingly went to Green Bay wide receiver Jordy Nelson. Add in Dan Quinn not getting any nods for Coach of the Year, and that means not a single Seahawk or ex-Seahawk was voted to win any of the NFL’s AP awards this season.

The full awards list can be seen here.