clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Doug Baldwin wins NFL Network’s Catch of the Year tournament

San Francisco 49ers v Seattle Seahawks Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

The NFL Network’s Catch of the Year tournament, run by Good Morning Football host and ex-Seahawks receiver Nate Burleson, has reached its conclusion. Doug Baldwin’s one-handed catch vs. San Francisco had beaten Jared Cook, Jimmy Graham, and A.J Green on his way to a tournament semifinal showdown with Julio Jones and his insane Super Bowl snag.

Fans voted on and advanced Baldwin to the final. Standing in his way was Julian Edelman, and ... well ... you know.

On paper, it looked to be an unwinnable matchup. Voters had chosen Edelman’s catch over Preach Around in the quarterfinals, then he won the semifinal showdown over Mike Evans and his one-handed beauty against Atlanta. I didn’t have high expectations for one of the greatest plays in Super Bowl history to lose to a diving, one-handed grab in a routine regular season game.

I was wrong. Very wrong.

After more than 37,000 votes, Baldwin destroyed Edelman 59% to 41% to win Catch of the Year honors for the 2016-17 NFL season. It’s a Seahawks triumph over the Patriots in a tournament final! (Too soon?)

To celebrate such a monumental victory, here’s a selection of great catches by one of the best wide receivers in the NFL.

Doesn’t look like a pedestrian receiver to me!