clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Which historical backup QB do you choose?

In the very theoretical absence of Russell Wilson

probably a completion...?

If you could have any of the Holmgren-Carroll backup quarterbacks as the second-string guy to Russell Wilson, which one would you choose? Warning: he might have to see playing time.

Second warning: the list may leave you wanting more. Or less. Hard to say.

Rule 1: You can’t have a long-term starter. While Matt Hasselbeck may in fact have been a backup quarterback here for some time, nobody thinks of him as a Seattle Seahawks backup. Tarvaris Jackson was removed because he spent an entire season, start to finish as the Seahawks’ starter. He’s not “just a backup,” although he was exactly that for a few years.

Rule 2: He has to have appeared in a live NFL game for Seattle. Thus were excluded Jake Heaps, Austin Davis, and David Greene.

Rule 3: Trevone Boykin is the current backup, by default. He’s familiar with the system and is the natural choice. Let’s take him off the list to make it more fun.

Rule 4: Yes we know you all want to pick Jon Ryan but let’s keep this contest to full-time part-time quarterbacks, okay?

Trent Dilfer and Seneca Wallace got extended stints as starters here and elsewhere, obviously. That gives them a leg (an arm?) up on the competition, but on the other hand, their limitations became evident through the playing time granted.


Russell Wilson will miss four games with a separated shoulder and now you must choose any — almost any — past backup quarterback from the Holmgren-Carroll years. Who is it?

This poll is closed

  • 0%
    Travis Brown (2000), 0-0, 1 att
    (3 votes)
  • 45%
    Trent Dilfer (2000-04), 8-4, 356 att
    (632 votes)
  • 7%
    Matt Flynn (2012), 0-0, 9 att
    (107 votes)
  • 0%
    Glenn Foley (1999), 0-0, 30 att
    (5 votes)
  • 0%
    Charlie Frye (2008), 0-1, 23 att
    (9 votes)
  • 6%
    Brock Huard (2000-01), 0-4, 104 att
    (98 votes)
  • 34%
    Seneca Wallace (2005-09), 5-9, 556 att
    (487 votes)
  • 4%
    Charlie Whitehurst (2010-11), 1-3, 155 att
    (61 votes)
1402 votes total Vote Now

By the way, that’s the complete list, sans Boykin and Jackson. Good thing Hasselbeck was durable enough and Wilson is indestructible.