clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Seahawks Steve Hutchinson and Kevin Mawae named Hall of Fame semifinalists

Seahawks v Browns X

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced the modern-era semifinalists for the class of 2019 on Tuesday evening, and there were four names with ties to the Seattle Seahawks among the nominees. Among the four is Steve Hutchinson, the former left guard who made two All-Pro and three Pro-Bowl teams while playing alongside Walter Jones during his five years in Seattle.

Hutchinson’s unceremonious departure from the Seahawks, thanks to the poison pill, left a sour taste in the mouths of Seattle fans for years. However time heals all wounds and Hutchinson was welcomed back to CenturyLink Field during the team’s last home playoff game, a victory over the Lions in 2016, to raise the 12th man flag. With five All-Pro selections and a team of the decade selection, Hutchinson has a better-than-decent shot at enshrinement.

Joining Hutchinson among the 25 semifinalists is Kevin Mawae, who was selected by the Seahawks in the second round of the 1994 NFL Draft, and spent four seasons in Seattle before stops with the Jets and Titans. Mawae, another member of the team of the decade for the 2000s and a seven time All-Pro selection, also served as the president of the NFLPA at the end of his career.

The two other nominees with ties to the Seahawks are Tom Flores, who served as the team’s head coach for three seasons between 1992 and 1994, and Edgerrin James, who played the last season of a sparkling decade-long career in Seattle.

The list of 25 semifinalists will be cut down to 15 on January 3rd, before the Hall of Fame class of 2019 is voted on and announced on the eve of the Super Bowl. The full list of semifinalists can be found below: