clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Seahawks have racked up plenty of wins since 2012, but haven’t won a single NFL AP award

Super Bowl XLVIII - Seattle Seahawks v Denver Broncos Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

Since Russell Wilson was drafted, the Seattle Seahawks have the best record among all NFC teams, and their 65-30-1 regular season mark is only bettered by none other than the New England Patriots. Even with last year’s 9-7 hiccup, they’ve been undoubtedly one of the top teams in the NFL for several years, boasting several of the league’s best players. Here is a complete list of annual Associated Press awards they’ve won during that time span:




That’s it. Not once has the Associated Press given a member of the Seahawks organization a year-end award in the Wilson era, and indeed the entirety of the Carroll era. Russell Wilson did win Pepsi Rookie of the Year in 2012, which is voted on by the fans and not members of the media. In fact, the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year saw Wilson (10 votes) come in last among the three names - Robert Griffin III (29 votes), Andrew Luck (11 votes). Wilson is regarded as a top-ten quarterback by many, if not top-five, and in his outstanding 2015 campaign, he did not receive an MVP vote, and was 3rd in the Offensive Player of the Year race, as Cam Newton won both of those awards.

Pete Carroll turned a terrible team into a Super Bowl champion and a three-time NFC West winner. The closest he’s come to winning AP Coach of the Year was in 2012, when he placed 3rd behind Bruce Arians and Chuck Pagano, who handed over head coaching duties to Arians in Indianapolis after he was diagnosed with cancer. Carroll did receive votes in 2013 and 2014, but was nowhere near contention.

Richard Sherman was the consensus best corner in the game for several seasons, yet the only time he’s picked up AP Defensive Player of the Year votes was in 2013, and he ended up in 5th. Earl Thomas was 3rd in the same season, as Luke Kuechly and Robert Mathis finished 1-2, and Thomas hasn’t had any votes since then. In 2012, Bobby Wagner was runner-up to Luke Kuechly for AP Defensive Rookie of the Year, and last season he got one measly vote for DPOY, while Aaron Donald won it all.

AP Comeback Player of the Year could’ve at least had Jimmy Graham in consideration after his horrific knee injury in 2015, yet his 2016 campaign in which he had 65 catches, 923 yards, and 6 touchdowns saw him receive nary a passing glance. If you want to rewind just a little bit to Carroll’s first year, WR Mike Williams was runner-up for this award in 2010, but Michael Vick was pretty much a lock to get that win.

To find the most recent Seahawks recipient of an NFL AP award, you have to go all the way back to 2005, when Shaun Alexander’s record-setting performances earned him the NFL MVP and Offensive Player of the Year.

Is 2018 the year the drought ends? Wilson has been a popular MVP pick in recent seasons, but his case for even a vote fell apart in the final four games of last year. His less-than-stellar start to 2015 may have cost him a chance to be in serious MVP conversation, and 2016 was an injury-riddled year for #3. You also have first-round draft pick Rashaad Penny as a potential Offensive ROTY candidate, as Seattle figures to use him heavily as part of revamping the moribund rushing attack. Perhaps Bobby Wagner has another monstrous season and improves upon 2017’s single vote for DPOY.

I doubt many actually care how many awards the Seahawks win for as long as they produce on the field, but it is astonishing for a team as consistently successful as Seattle’s to be an afterthought at NFL Honors year after year.