clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Shaun Alexander, Dave Krieg among Seahawks nominees for Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 2019 Class

Green Bay Packers vs Seattle Seahawks - November 27, 2006 Photo by Kevin Casey/NFLPhotoLibrary

We are a good five months or so away from finding out the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019, but we do have a list of 102 nominees for the modern-era.

I’m pretty sure we can pencil in Tony Gonzalez and Ed Reed as first-ballot hall-of-famers, but others on the list include Isaac Bruce, Edgerrin James, Tony Boselli, the late Steve McNair, Richard Seymour, and John Lynch. There are also plenty of former Seattle Seahawks on the preliminary list, and here they are: (Years with the Seahawks are in parentheses)


QB Dave Krieg (1980-1991)

RB Shaun Alexander (2000-2007)

RB Chris Warren (1990-1997)

RB Ricky Watters (1998-2001)

LG Steve Hutchinson (2001-2005)

C Kevin Mawae (1994-1997)

Special Teams

P Jeff Feagles (1998-2002)


Mike Holmgren (1999-2008)

Tom Flores (1992-1994)

Well we know that if Flores gets in, it sure as hell isn’t because of his years in Seattle. It’s extremely unlikely that Krieg or Warren ever get HOF calls, and of the potential 2019 class, I reckon Hutchinson is the only one with a really good chance of making it in. He was a seven-time Pro Bowler and five-time First-team All-Pro with the Seahawks and Minnesota Vikings. You want to talk about how tough it’s been for the Seahawks to find a franchise left tackle post-Walter Jones? The infamous “poison pill” Hutchinson deal has led to more than a decade of the Seahawks having a revolving door of players at left guard.

The full list of nominees can be found here.