clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019: Ex-Seahawks center Kevin Mawae headed to Canton

Kevin Mawae Seahawks

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019 has been announced, and while one much more important ex-Seattle Seahawks offensive lineman did not get the nod for induction, another one from the 1990s team did.

Former center Kevin Mawae has received the call to go to Canton. He was with the Seahawks from 1994-1997, having been selected by Seattle in the second-round of the 1994 NFL Draft. Mawae was on the PFWA All-Rookie Team, but the bulk of his success came with the New York Jets and Tennessee Titans, racking up eight Pro Bowl selections, seven first-team All-Pro honors, and he’s on the 2000s NFL All-Decade Team. Mawae retired after the 2009 season.

Mawae was the only offensive lineman to get into the Pro Football HOF, meaning former Seahawks left guard Steve Hutchinson, ex-Pittsburgh Steelers star guard Alan Faneca, and ex-Jacksonville Jaguars tackle Tony Boselli will have to wait another year.

The full class is as follows:

  • Ed Reed, safety (Baltimore Ravens, Houston Texans, and New York Jets)
  • Champ Bailey, cornerback (Washington and Denver Broncos)
  • Kevin Mawae, center (Seattle Seahawks, New York Jets, Tennessee Titans)
  • Ty Law, cornerback (New England Patriots, New York Jets, Kansas City Chiefs, and Denver Broncos)
  • Tony Gonzalez, tight end (Kansas City Chiefs and Atlanta Falcons)
  • Johnny Robinson, flanker and defensive back (Dallas Texans/Kansas City Chiefs)
  • Pat Bowlen, majority owner (Denver Broncos)
  • Gil Brandt, executive (Los Angeles Rams, San Francisco 49ers, and Dallas Cowboys)

The 2019 Hall of Fame Game will occur on August 1st, with all eight men getting enshrined on August 3rd.