clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bobby Wagner named to Pro Football Writers of America All-NFL Team, Russell Wilson to the All-NFC Team

NFL: Seattle Seahawks at Carolina Panthers Jim Dedmon-USA TODAY Sports

10 days ago, the AP announced their All-Pro teams for the 2019 season. Among those honored was a pair of Seattle Seahawks: Russell Wilson for the first time, and Bobby Wagner, who earned his fifth All-Pro honor. Now, Wagner has added another season-long honor to his 2019.

Wagner was named to the Pro Football Writers of America All-NFL team Monday, in addition to former Seahawk Richard Sherman.

It is the fourth straight year Wagner has been named to the PFWA All-NFL team, a streak bested by just Aaron Donald, who was named for a fifth straight season. Wagner again comes away with a sweep of honors with Pro Bowl, All-Pro and PFWA All-NFL nods. In the coming weeks, he may add the one that would surely mean the most: The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award.

The Pro Football Writers of America also name all-conference teams, and on that version, Seattle’s Russell Wilson joined Wagner.

In addition to their All-Pro, All-NFL and All-NFC honors, Wilson and Wagner were both selected to the Pro Bowl, and could appear in the exhibition later this month.