clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SB Nation Reacts: Patrick Mahomes is the midseason MVP over Russell Wilson

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Seahawks beat Chiefs 38-31 John Sleezer/Kansas City Star/Tribune News Service via Getty Images

Welcome to SB Nation Reacts, a survey of fans across the NFL. Each week, we send out questions to the most plugged in Seahawks fans, and fans across the country. Sign up here to join Reacts.

Coming off of their second loss in three weeks, fans are bailing on the first-place Seattle Seahawks. Other than everyone, no one could’ve seen this reaction coming.

According to the most recent SB Nation Reacts survey, only 44 percent of Seahawks fans think the team is headed int he right direction. That’s a sharp drop from 97 percent last week. This is an even harder dip from the Cardinals loss, and I assume that’s because this game was essentially a blowout defeat and it was one of the worst defensive showings of the Pete Carroll era.

I shudder to think what the Reacts poll could look like if they lose to the Rams and possibly fall to 3rd in the NFC West. Do you realize we’re below all but ten teams this week? And all the teams below us except the Chicago Bears have losing records!

Anyway, let’s get to the national questions. Fans around the league were asked who should win the league’s biggest awards. Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes was picked as the MVP with 32 percent of the vote, edging out Russell Wilson who took 30 percent. Josh Allen and Aaron Rodgers rounded out the top four. Mahomes has 25 touchdown passes to just one interception, and he has lit up the league the last two weeks against the lowly Jets and rebuilding Panthers. In all seriousness, he’s on his way to another great season.

Vikings running back Dalvin Cook was picked as Offensive Player of the Year with Mahomes and Wilson coming in second and third, respectively. Voting for this particular category is always weird because QBs win MVP by default these days but not necessarily OPOY.

On the other side of the ball, Rams superstar defensive tackle Aaron Donald was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year and Dolphins head coach Brian Flores was picked as the Coach of the Year. I am kinda surprised TJ Watt didn’t get DPOY honors at the midway point but I fear Donald may establish DPOY credentials this Sunday.

Lastly, Chargers QB Justin Herbert, who the Raiders just beat by the barest of margins, was picked as the Offensive Rookie of the Year. He edged out Joe Burrow and Tua Tagovailoa. Honestly Tua should not be getting this many votes when he’s played two games. Chase Claypool finished 3rd in the voting and he’s been a sensation for the Pittsburgh Steelers.

To vote in the Reacts surveys and have your voice heard each week, sign up here.