clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2020 NFL Honors: Russell Wilson shut out of MVP voting as Lamar Jackson gets unanimous nod

Tampa Bay Buccaneers v Seattle Seahawks Photo by Stephen Brashear/Getty Images

The 2020 NFL AP awards have been announced, and as expected Baltimore Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson won league MVP. Not bad for someone who should’ve been playing wide receiver, right Bill Polian?

Of course, Jackson’s nearest MVP competitor and early-season frontrunner was none other than the Seattle Seahawks’ Russell Wilson, but a decidedly pedestrian four-game stretch from mid-November through early December came at a time when Jackson was clowning opposing defenses for fun. Wilson finished the 2019 regular season with 31 touchdowns (to just five interceptions), and had a nice QBR of 69.4, along with a league-leading five game-winning drives that helped Seattle make the playoffs.

Despite those tremendous numbers, it turns out Wilson didn’t even get a vote, so technically he doesn’t even get official runner-up status.

This is only the second time in NFL history that there has ever been a unanimous MVP winner.

Wilson has still never received a single MVP vote in his career, and the Seahawks as a team have not won an AP award since Shaun Alexander took league MVP honors in 2005.

Russ was not totally shut out of all AP voting, however. Wilson received one vote for AP Offensive Player of the Year, which somewhat surprisingly went to New Orleans Saints wide receiver Michael Thomas, who edged out Lamar Jackson and Carolina Panthers superstar running back Christian McCaffrey.

No other Seahawk received a vote for anything. DK Metcalf was unable to get on the ballot for Offensive Rookie of the Year, which was won by Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray.

...But all is not lost! These incredible team celebrations that the Seahawks have choreographed keep getting recognized! Celebration of the Year is Seattle’s once again! (Shout out to N’Sync)