clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The first annual Gullies Awards - And your winners are...

Seattle Seahawks v San Francisco 49ers Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

Seattle Seahawks fans from around the world voted, and now we have our official winners for the first annual Gullies. I even did a podcast with Brandan Schulze discussing the award nominees and eventual winners, which you can listen to in the audio player above this paragraph. If you don’t have time or interest in hearing me waffle on about my own awards show, then don’t you worry ‘bout a thing!

There were eight categories to vote on, and clear-cut winners across the board. I only saw one surprise result, which was Jadeveon Clowney finishing third in the Seahawks DPOY race, but otherwise this went according to script.

Without further ado, here are your Gullies winners, representing the best of the Seahawks’ 2019-20 season!

Non-Russell Wilson Offensive Player of the Year

Winner - Tyler Lockett (45%)

Runner-up - Chris Carson (29%)

Third - DK Metcalf (22%)

Defensive Player of the Year

Winner - Bobby Wagner (38%)

Runner-up - Quandre Diggs (25%)

Third - Jadeveon Clowney (20%)

Rookie of the Year

Winner - DK Metcalf (97%)

Runner-up - John Ursua (2%)

Third - Tied between Travis Homer and Marquise Blair (1%)

Most Improved Player

Winner - Shaquill Griffin (40%)

Runner-up - Rasheem Green (24%)

Third - Rashaad Penny (21%)

Offensive Play of the Year

Winner - Russell Wilson’s touchdown to Tyler Lockett vs. Los Angeles Rams (76%)

Runner-up - DK Metcalf tumbling, diving touchdown vs. Philadelphia Eagles (9%)

Third - Marshawn Lynch’s over the top touchdown vs. San Francisco 49ers (8%)

Defensive Play of the Year

Winner - Shaquem and Shaquill Griffin sack Aaron Rodgers in the playoffs (38%)

Runner-up - Jadeveon Clowney’s scoop and score vs. San Francisco 49ers (21%)

Third - Jadeveon Clowney pick-six vs. Arizona Cardinals (14%)

Special Teams Play of the Year

Winner - Travis Homer fake punt run vs. Minnesota Vikings (64%)

Runner-up - Jason Myers game winner vs. San Francisco 49ers (26%)

Third - Rasheem Green’s field goal block, Marquise Blair’s return vs. Arizona Cardinals (10%)

Win of the Year

Winner - 27-24 (OT) to hand the San Francisco 49ers their first loss (84%)

Runner-up - 30-29 Thursday Night Football thriller vs. Los Angeles Rams (11%)

Third - 40-34 (OT) Russell Wilson’s virtuoso five-touchdown showing vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers (2%)

My only surprise was Jadeveon Clowney finishing 3rd in the DPOY race, especially since Quandre Diggs only played a handful of games (admittedly making a big impact when he did play).

I want to thank everyone for their input, their votes, and for being responsible human beings and not stuffing the ballots to rig the outcomes of this super serious awards ceremony.

All of the winners can slide into my DMs and collect their trophy, and we’ll be doing this again next year!