clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Hasselbeck, Mike Holmgren to be inducted into Seahawks Ring of Honor

Indianapolis Colts v Seattle Seahawks Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

The Seattle Seahawks Ring of Honor has new company this year, and no one can dispute either man’s place.

Quarterback Matt Hasselbeck and head coach Mike Holmgren will join this exclusive club of Seahawks legends this fall.

Hasselbeck’s induction will be at halftime on October 25th against the New Orleans Saints. It’s a fitting night because Hasselbeck’s final win as a Seahawk came in that unforgettable playoff upset over New Orleans, in which he threw for four touchdowns. Holmgren’s will be the following week on October 31st against the Jacksonville Jaguars.

Holmgren and Hasselbeck both won five division titles — Coach Mike won the AFC West in 1999, then four NFC West championships with Hasselbeck at QB from 2004-2007, while Hass got his fifth through his lone season with Pete Carroll in 2010. Fans will most fondly remember the 2005 season, which saw the Seahawks finish with an NFC best 13-3 record and the franchise’s first ever Super Bowl appearance.

This partnership was not always smooth sailing. Hasselbeck was benched more than once in favor of Trent Dilfer but towards the end of 2002 things started to click, and in 2003 he became a Pro Bowl quarterback on his way to a series of playoff appearances and the aforementioned NFC Championship.

The other member of the Seahawks Ring of Honor are Steve Largent, Jim Zorn, Dave Brown, Pete Gross, Curt Warner, Jacob Green, Kenny Easley, Dave Krieg, Chuck Knox, Cortez Kennedy, Walter Jones, and Paul Allen.

One can only assume Shaun Alexander’s induction is coming soon. After all, he’s the only league MVP this team has ever had.

As for Coach Holmgren, perhaps the next step for him beyond the team’s ROH is getting into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton.